WAUSAU, Wis. (Aug. 8) – Rain slowed but couldn’t stop the racing at State Park Speedway Thursday night, and that included support divisions for the TUNDRA super late model special.

The speedway’s Rockstar Energy Drink Mini Stocks and Advance Auto Parts Pure Stocks joined late models as part of the night’s program, though it was designated as a non-points night for both classes. The Wisconsin Sport Trucks also visited the track for the second straight year and the second time ever.

The trucks were near completing their 20-lap feature when rains led to the stop of the feature with three laps remaining. The yellow and checkered flags came out at the same time and Cody Vander Loop of Freedom finished as winner in the rain-shortened event.

Taking the high line around the track preferred by the trucks, Vander Loop won at State Park for the second time in two trips, as he also won feature in the series’ first-ever visit last year. He led all 20 laps of the feature, taking the lead from J.J. Vander Loop out of the fourth turn on the first lap and quickly checking out from the rest of the field.

Cody Vander Loop needed just five laps to build a full straightaway lead on his nearest competition. He led a Vander Loop sweep of the top four spots, with fast qualifier Kasey second, J.J. third and Jerry fourth. Cody Vander Loop and Andrew Ross also added heat wins in the sport trucks.

Eric Breitenfeldt has continued to improve in his first full season racing weekly at State Park Speedway and elsewhere, to the point where he is regularly as fast as anyone in the mini stocks wherever he goes.

The Wausau driver won his second feature of the season at the track, taking the win on a non-points night for the mini stocks. He also won for the second straight night after taking the feature at Norway Speedway in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan the night before.

Breitenfeldt made the outside work to pass Kole Ferge for the lead on lap 13, getting by the two-time defending mini stocks champion who returned to the class for one night driving Tyler Custer’s car. Breitenfeldt held off Ferge in the closing laps and would pull away late.

Ferge came in second with fast qualifier Tom Lecher third. Chris Boykins and Garret Strachota rounded out the top five, with Boykins coming in fourth after leading the first four laps.

The pure stocks also had two cars come out, and Alex Volm of Mosinee and Wausau’s Jeff Spatz raced in a series of five-lap sprints against each other. Volm won three of them, including the deciding fifth race where he drew the preferred inside line and held off Spatz to cap an entertaining set of one-on-one races.

Racing at State Park Speedway returns to its regular Thursday night for the final three races of the season at the track. The next race will be Corn Night at the track, with all-you-can-eat-and-drink corn and beer for $12 on top of regular admission prices. Auto Select Super Late Models pres. by C-Tech, pure stocks, Snap-on Mini Mods and mini stocks all will be on hand, with Fred Mueller Qualifying at 6 p.m. and racing to follow at 7 p.m.

Rockstar Energy Drink Mini Stocks
Fast Qualifier: Tom Lecher, Wausau, 16.571 sec.
First Heat: 1. David Westrich; 2. Makayla Last, Wausau; 3. Kendra Baumann, Wausau; 4. Max Manowski, Wausau; 5. Hunter Landwehr, Marshfield
Second Heat: 1. Garret Strachota, Wausau; 2. Chris Boykins, Wausau; 3. Lecher; 4. Kole Ferge, Edgar; 5. Eric Breitenfeldt, Wausau
Feature: 1. E. Breitenfeldt; 2. Ferge; 3. Lecher; 4. Boykins; 5. Strachota; 6. Westrich; 7. Baumann; 8. Last; 9. Manowski; 10. Landwehr

Wisconsin Sport Trucks
Fast Qualifier: Kasey Vander Loop, Freedom, 15.614 sec.
First Heat: 1. Andrew Ross, Appleton, 2. Jamison MacDonald, Suamico; 3. Beth Craig, Menasha; 4. Ted Ulman, Greenville; 5. Pete Zarnoth, Brillion
Second Heat: 1. Cody Vander Loop, Freedom; 2. K. Vander Loop; 3. J.J. Vander Loop, Freedom; 4. Jerry Vander Loop, Freedom
Feature: 1. C. Vander Loop; 2. K. Vander Loop; 3. J.J. Vander Loop; 4. Jerry Vander Loop; 5. Ross; 6. MacDonald; 7. Craig; 8. Ulman; 9. Zarnoth