By: Tom Ace

This Friday night July 26, the Big 8 Late Model Series returns to
State Park Speedway in Wausau Wisconsin for the eighth time in Series

Through the years, the tricky bullring nestled at the base of Rib Mountain has produced some of the best racing and most fantastic
finishes on the Big 8 Series schedule.

This year’s Big 8 showcase includes drivers from four different states who’ve won a combined 25 track or series championships and have
accounted for 36 Big 8 Series feature wins.

Leading the charge is current Big 8 Late Model Series point leader Michael Bilderback, a former two-time winner of the Detjens Memorial
Race (2015 and 2017). Bilderback has finished no worse than fourth in his three previous appearances at State Park Speedway. Along with
holding the Series point lead, Bilderback is also the current point leader at the Rockford Speedway on Saturday nights.

A couple other past champions of the Big 8 Detjens Memorial, ‘Driver X’ Jon Reynolds Jr and Michael Ostdiek, are also entered for the 2019
version of the event. Reynolds is the reigning Detjens Memorial champion after outgunning Ostdiek for the win one year ago. Reynolds
was also victorious at State Park in 2014, a season which saw Reynolds collect three Big 8 wins and his first Rockford Speedway track
championship. Ostdiek is a very skilled driver and especially on the Wausau oval, garnering three career wins at the track including his
only Big 8 Series win back in 2016. The Lakeville Minnesota native has finished first, third and second in his three Big 8 Series starts at
State Park Speedway.

The winner of the most recent Big 8 Series race, Dale Nottestad, is looking for more this Friday night. Nottestad, a multi-time Jefferson
Speedway and Madison International Speedway champion, has made two previous trips to State Park Speedway, garnering a second place finish
in 2013 and a fourth place result in 2014. Nottestad’s win at Madison back in June capped off a dominant night, which saw him also collect
fast time honors.

Other Big 8 Series regulars looking to escape Wausau with the winners trophy include Hawkeye Downs winner Nick Egan, Minnesota hotshoe Chad
Walen and Iowa teenager Brody Willett. Those drivers will be joined by local favorites Neil Knoblock and Jeremy Lepak in their quest for
glory, along with numerous other talented drivers.

Lepak figures to be especially hungry to win Friday evening, as the two-time National Short Track Champion has been close several times
before during Detjens Weekend. Lepak has finished runner-up in the Big 8 event at State Park Speedway a remarkable three times. The Wausau
native was runner up during the inaugural Big 8 appearance in 2012 while also finishing second in the 2016 and 2017 installments of the


What: “Larry Detjens Memorial”
Where: State Park Speedway (5711 North Mountain Road Wausau, WI 54401)
When: Friday July 26

Schedule and Information:
3 PM- Pits Open
4 PM- Practice Begins (Big 8 Practice 4-4:20 & 4:50-5:10)
6:10 PM- Big 8 Series Qualifying
7 PM- Racing Begins

Divisions Competing:
Big 8 Late Model Series (complete show highlighted by a 58 lap feature)
Plus Mini Stocks, Mini Mods & Bandoleros

Admission Prices:
Adults- $15
Children (Ages 6-12)- $8
Kids (Ages 5 & under)- FREE

Big 8 Late Model Series
Larry Detjens Memorial
Expected Entries
(as of 7/24/19)

O2- Rayce Haase            Wausau, WI
OO- Brody Willett        Alburnett, IA
2- Michael Bilderback    South Beloit, IL
X- Jon Reynolds Jr        Loves Park, IL
13- Nick Egan            Slinger, WI
14- Devyn Stocker        Farmington, MN
16- Luke Westenberg        Jefferson, WI
18- Michael Ostdiek        Lakeville, MN
40- Tom Gille            Winnebago, IL
40- Jeremy Lepak        Edgar, WI
49- Jerry Mueller        Richfield, WI
51- Justin Neisius        Rosemount, MN
51- Dale Nottestad        Cambridge, WI
52- Chad Walen            Prior Lake, MN
53- Jared Duda            St Michael, MN
58- Tyler Kingery        Prior Lake, MN
70- Neil Knoblock        Wausau, WI
92- RJ Braun            Wales, WI
93- Dillon Mackesy        Athens, WI

Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings
(as of June 29 2019)

1. Michael Bilderback    218
2. Brody Willet    181
3. Nick Egan    172
4. Chad Walen    161
5. Justin Neisius  156
6. Jerry Mueller    154
  RJ Braun (R)        154
8. Dale Nottestad    129
  Luke Westenberg    129
10. Riley Stenjem    122

Fri July 26- Larry Detjens Memorial Race (State Park Speedway, Wausau WI)
Tues Aug 6- Dixieland Delight (Wisconsin Int’l Raceway, Kaukauna WI)
Sat Sept 21- ‘Thunderstruck 93’ (Elko Speedway, Elko New Market, MN)
Sat Sept 28- 54th Annual National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway)
Sat Oct 5- 50th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds
Speedway, West Salem, WI)